To build the present…

It rained while I was at work. A torrential downpour complete with power outage. Buckets, barrels, dump truck loads of rain descended. It was lovely!

I get giddy when it rains.

When it rains I recall a lovely memory. It took place in Buxton, England. Mom and I walked from our hotel with umbrellas open and above our heads. We passed the opera house and climbed the steps leading up to the park which was happily situated on top of a hill with a windy path. As we climbed the steps I saw an elderly couple in raincoats walking ahead of us. They carried a hamper and a thermos. By the time Mom and I reached the top of the hill, the couple had sat on a park bench underneath a canopy of leaves. They were enjoying their tea in the midst of morning rain.

One of my favorite books is The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. Every now and then I take it down from my shelf and thumb through it; I had underlined and starred several sentences and passages when I first read it.

“…if you dread tomorrow, it’s because you don’t know how to build the present, and when you don’t know how to build the present, you tell yourself you can deal with it tomorrow, and it’s a lost cause anyway because tomorrow always ends up becoming today, don’t you see?”

“That’s what the future is for: to build the present, with real plans, made by living people.”

(Quotes taken from The Elegance of the Hedgehog.)

3 thoughts on “To build the present…

  1. I’m reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog next and decided to read some blogs – I’m so excited now that I see how many people adore this book and that it’s one of your favorites. I love the quotes you posted as well. Thank you!

    • Hello Cassie,
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. How wonderful that you’ll be reading “The Elegance of the Hedgehog”! For me it was so unique from most of the books I’ve ever read. The story was brilliant, and the insights and descriptions…well, I’ve underlined and starred many passages. Have a lovely read!

Leave a Reply

