Mango Gingerbread with Macadamia Streusel

My mother is locally famous for her banana bread and pumpkin bread. Her recipes for them were written on index cards. The ink has faded and several layers of batter splotches have smeared the paper’s surface many years over. Mom triples her bread production during the holidays, baking them in tin cans and wrapping them as presents to give to the many who always looked forward to receiving them. Having been surrounded by banana and pumpkin breads during my childhood and early adulthood, I am immune to their charms. While friends and coworkers get slightly giddy over such breads, I’m not stirred.

One day I came across a delicious looking mango bread by Notions & Notations of a Novice Cook. Mango bread? I’ve never heard of such a thing.

The more I entertained the notion of mango bread, the more I wanted to bake a loaf of my own.

I found a recipe for Mango Gingerbread with Macadamia Streusel on bonappetit.com. Intriguing.

I decided to use that recipe and adapt it to make it my own.

The result is absolute deliciousness.

8 thoughts on “Mango Gingerbread with Macadamia Streusel

  1. Gorgeous combination of flavours and textures there! The light is so beautifully captured (as always) in your pics! Truly stunning! I also love the overlaid txt in your recipe/photo. Ultra stylish, my recipes always read half a page long, lol 🙂

    • Thank you very much! It was a beautiful day for baking & taking pictures. Lol. Any day when natural light is in abundance is a good day to take pictures. 🙂
      As for the overlaid text, I’m glad you liked it. I had fun playing with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

