A Brief Composition in Black & White

Do you ever get that urge to create something? You don’t have an idea of what to specifically create, but you just want to do it. You need to do it. You feel the pent up creative energy pulsating inside you, wanting to be unleashed.

One afternoon several weeks ago with nothing particularly in mind of what I wanted to do, I just picked up my camera and began snapping pictures around my living room. Only when I changed the settings to black and white did the images peak my interest.

Here is a brief composition in black and white.

All images ©2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

16 thoughts on “A Brief Composition in Black & White

  1. I really enjoyed this short series of photographs, I normally set myself a min task of photographing only what is with me in the room I am currently in and normally they end up being boring but your take on said mini task has worked really effectively! Well Done!

    Cogtography, a photographic blog (mainly for photographers) for all your inspirational and creative ideas, give us a comment, a like and maybe even a follow. Get creative, get inspired:
    http://cogtography.wordpress.com/

    • Hello Tom! Thank you for checking out my post and following my blog. Thank you for the compliment! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I think your idea of photographing what is in the room with you is a good exercise on trying to capture something new or unique about an item/location that is familiar.

  2. beautiful imagery and composition!

    the rock where i live in now will be hit by a particularly massive cyclone tomorrow. i hope to borrow this concept of yours for my apartment as a means of spending time indoors… if you don’t mind? 🙂

    • Hello Ivy! Thank you. Oh no! I hope the cyclone doesn’t strike. I pray for you and your family’s safety.
      By all means–absolutely you can use this concept. I look forward to see your compositions. Thank you for checking out my post and following. 🙂

      • The typhoon has passed and the effect wasn’t so bad. Thanks to Japan for making marginally attractive yet very sturdy concrete houses. 🙂

        Have posted my B&W efforts. Made me realize I have to add more stuff to my new husband’s minimalistic apartment design. Hahaha!

      • Glad you hear the typhoon has gone and you’re doing ok. Good thing for sturdy houses! 🙂
        LOL! More stuff? I need to get rid of some of my stuff…don’t want to even think about tackling the storage room. As with everything in life, one must find that happy balance, right? 🙂

  3. Amazing photos. It’s awesome what colours (and/or the lack of it) can do to some pictures. Great job. Loved them. And yes, I’ve felt the same way so many times – that I want to create something but don’t know what.

    • Thank you, Roshni. You know, it’s so true; sometimes black and white is all that is needed. Thanks for sharing that you’ve had that same feeling before, too. 🙂

  4. Nice. I wonder why rendering prosaic things in black and white gives them more meaning or makes them more interesting? Is draining them of color a way to see them more for “what they are”, plain and simple shapres, objects in realtion to each other? I love color, I can become intoxicted by color, and yet simple black and white drawings or photos can take me to a deeper place, where things are spare and essential. Thank for sharing you photos.

    • Hello Deborah!
      Thank you and you’re welcome. You brought up some excellent points. I think, too, that black and white images can help you see something (in this case for me it was a lot of things that I see every day and am very used to them) with a new perspective.

Leave a Reply

