Watermelon Salad

Before summer bids farewell I must have some watermelon.

I’m not one for buying a whole melon for myself. First of all, my refrigerator is not big enough. Second, knowing me I wouldn’t be able to finish it. When I buy a watermelon, I buy them pre-cut. So I guess you could say I buy them in chunks. Now my mother, on the other hand, LOVES watermelon. Every summer, she would buy at least two or three–not all at once but throughout the season. A watermelon never went to waste at my parents’ house while I was growing up. Dad and I would have some the first day she cut the melon, but after that it was up to her to finish the thing.

Saturday evening during my exercise (a.k.a. walk), I was struck by an inexplicable craving for a watermelon salad. All of a sudden–just like that–I had to have watermelon. Well, there was no way I was going straight to the market just then all sweaty with hair plastered to my head. Once I finally made it to the store I picked up some cucumber, mint and Perrier (sometimes one needs a little fizz with water) along with a couple chunks of watermelon.

And here we have it: a watermelon cucumber salad with feta and mint. So refreshing. It’s almost like a beach vacation…or a lovely late summer rainy afternoon.

All images ©2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

12 thoughts on “Watermelon Salad

  1. This looks refreshing! Never knew watermelon was so versatile. The other day, a local restaurant was serving a chilled tomato and watermelon soup of sorts during restaurant week. Regretting that I didn’t try the soup.

    • Thank you!
      Oooohhhh…that soup sounds refreshing, too. The other day I saw someone’s Instragram post featuring cubed tomato & cucumber salad topped with watermelon granita. Hmmm. Creative, yes?

  2. Yay! I’m excited to see this post! We have one single watermelon that’s growing in our garden and it looks like it actually might make it! It’s the size of a bowling ball right now, so just a little longer I think. We also have mint and cucumber growing, we’ll have to buy minimally for this recipe! Thank you!

    • Hello MJ! Congratulations on your growing watermelon! That’s exciting! I’m glad you like the post. 🙂 (It’s always a plus to not have to buy many things for a recipe.)

  3. Definitely one of my favourite combinations. Watermelon, fetta and mint certainly herald the days of summer fun. I love your description of late summer rainy afternoons too! Beautiful dish, recipe & pics as always!

    • Thank you, Alice! I just love the texture of watermelon: a crunchiness that bursts with juices. Eating watermelon also reminds me of running through the sprinklers as a kid. Oh, the summer memories of yore…
      🙂

Leave a Reply

