Too Attached, Maybe?

I guess one could say I get attached to my designs. Each time I work on a project though, I do my best to create something that will be great, while at the same time trying my hardest to distance myself from it should the requester decide to change it up all together or someone else take hold of my design and does the tweaking. When someone else alters my design without giving me a heads up or asking for permission, it’s like an intrusion. The project was assigned to me; if it needed tweaking, tell me what the tweaks need to be and I’ll do it. It’s probably all just my perception.

It’s inevitable though, isn’t it? I do get attached. After all it’s my creation. I spent the time and effort into executing the design. But like I said, I try not to get too attached. Not always successful.

This happened the other day. Sometime altered my design. Why assign it to me if you’re going to take it over now?

We’re all team players, Sriprae. Team players.

That’s great; we’re team players. But what about courtesy?

It’s about getting the job done.

I understand. I could have gotten it done; I wasn’t swamped.

It just needed further tweaking.

They relayed the previous tweaking instructions to me before; why not now?

Oh, I give up, I don’t know.

I don’t know either.

Am I the only one who feels this way?

Anyway, let’s drop that and ย move on to prettier things. A few weeks ago I completed designing my business cards. I’ve been dragging my feet on this one for…oh…more than a year. When I first started this project I was not satisfied with anything I came up with. I thought at first it might be because it was too intimidating. When you are your own critic, it’s difficult. Talk about hard to please. Later I realized why I found it so intimidating. I didn’t know what I wanted; therefore, I struggled. Fast forward to the present, I know what I want. Therefore, completing it was fun and do-able. And satisfying.

I ordered my cards through moo.com and am so happy with the product.

All images ยฉ2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

6 thoughts on “Too Attached, Maybe?

Leave a Reply

