A Monday Celebration: Golden Syrup Cake

Welcome to Monday.

Here we are at the start of another week. The weather had been truly lovely during the weekend. Overcast, cool and drizzly at times. I think it made people crave autumn. On Saturday I popped in to a local craft store to pick up some fabric. Lo and behold, their parking lot was full and so was their store. Fall decor abounded like you wouldn’t believe. Oranges and browns. Pumpkins and gourds. The lines at the cash registers were ten to twenty people deep. People were craving fall decorations. Leaves, ribbons, wreaths and knick-knacks filled arms and shopping carts. In my mind I asked them: where do you guys store all this stuff once the season is over? I don’t know if it’s just a Texas thing or what, but housewives here go all out decorating their homes for Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, etc. I’ve been in homes where every room is decorated with evergreen trees and Christmas ornaments. I just can’t imagine digging all this stuff out of storage and then repacking them once the holidays are over. To each their own, I suppose.

In celebration of this wonderful week ahead (I’m choosing to be carefree and optimistic), I baked. With vintage jazz playing on the radio and rain quietly drenching the concrete, I donned my apron and whipped up a golden syrup cake (courtesy of blog Always With Butter).

May your Monday and week be a good one.

All images ©2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

19 thoughts on “A Monday Celebration: Golden Syrup Cake

  1. You know I’m going to write beautiful! Simply because it is. With vintage jazz playing, a beautiful rain drenched afternoon and some kitchen play time, I’d imagine you’re a happy gal. Sounds like the best Monday ever!

    • Thank you, Peter, for sharing with me your memories of Golden Syrup. Since it’s still a novelty item for me, I am curious to know how others have used it or enjoyed it.
      I think the tins look quite spiffy. In my area they are only available in plastic bottles. Not so exciting in my opinion. 🙂

      • I agree Sriprae. Sometimes the packaging is as important as the product. I used to love saving up when I was much much younger to buy records on vinyl (have I spelled that properly?? :). It was brilliant to have that big disc and look at all the interesting stuff on the cover and sometimes inner sleeve. I know it’s much easier now to access all sort of music I wouldn’t have been able to then but still miss those album covers!!

Leave a Reply

