Welcome Autumn

According to the calendar, Autumn began last Saturday. Another season has passed, and a new one is upon us. Although by stepping outside, it still feels like summer here. However, things are different. Kids are back at school; storefront windows are displayingย corduroys, scarves and cashmere sweaters. Starbucks is serving pumpkin spice lattes, and Halloween candies fill an entire grocery aisle.

I’ve not yet stored away my summer dresses, tank tops and sandals. But I have my candles ready for when the days become shorter and the nights grow longer. I look forward to those crisp mornings when I can see my breath once I walk out the door, when leaves puddle the streets, when spending time in the kitchen means simmering big pots of soups and roasting meat and baking pies.

Summer went by like a blur. It’s a little sad knowing that the year is winding to a close. There were things I had planned for this year that hadn’t happened yet.

There are things that maybe I’m hoping beyond hope would happen before the end of 2012.

But there were also lots of good and lovely things that had transpired. The same lesson that keeps repeating itself is that life is not perfect. Despite the imperfections though, there is great beauty.

On that note, let’s celebrate Autumn and savor this early part of a new season together.

All images ยฉ2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

9 thoughts on “Welcome Autumn

  1. Yet smother gorgeous array of cakes and lovely things. I’m always amazed at the simplicity and style of your shots. That and you manage to keep your recipe’s so simple (mine get to wordy!)

    Yay for autumn days and comfort food and baking, you’ll forgive me if I revel in sunshine & icecresm though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hello Alice! Thank you so much. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Your recipes are very clear and instructive. Perfect for a cookbook (hint, hint). It’s almost like having you in the kitchen directing and guiding one along the process. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I, on the other hand, am not that fond of writing recipes (gasp!). ๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy Spring and sumptuous sunshine to you, my friend! Enjoy the ice cream, the budding flowers, the flittering butterflies and all the glories warmer weather brings. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Sprirae, another lovely post with beautiful photos and a delicious simply recipe. It has only been the last 5 years that I have really gotten to experience 4 distinct seasons. Growing up in Africa and Australia I’ve never experienced extreme winters like here in Austria but the changes in season is pretty. Can’t wait to see what you cook up when winter is upon us.
    PS. Did I say how much I LOVE your photography ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hello Angela. Thank you very much!
      Ohhhh…I can just dream of what Austria must be like during autumn & winter. I love snow. Austria must be gorgeous when blanketed in snow…or blooming in the spring…or changing colors during the fall. Wow.
      That’s fabulous though that you’ve had the opportunity to experience life on different continents. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for letting me know that you enjoy the pictures. I’m so thrilled!

  3. It looks very very nice and spongy. In Spain there is cake done with almonds (tarta de Santiago) and it is served dusted with sugar powder like yours. It’s a bit heavy becuase of the use of pure almonds. It’s a good choice to use extract.

    • Hello Raul! Thank you.
      I did see a recipe for tarta de Santiago. Since I didn’t have any almonds on hand, I used flour instead with extra almond extract. It turned out quite lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚
      One of these days I’d like to try making tarta de Santiago.

Leave a Reply

