Short-Cut Minestrone & “Call the Midwife”

Rain visited us the past couple of days and brought along with it a somewhat cooler weather. I spent most of the weekend running errands, unfurling my umbrella, dashing from one building to the next (or back to my car). My hair stayed dry but my jeans got soaked. By the time Sunday afternoon arrived, all I wanted to do was crash on the sofa. Crash I did for about 15 minutes. The timer for my oven woke me up. For a while there I thought it was my alarm clock. Good thing the haze of disorientation quickly dissipated, otherwise my cake would have suffered.

When it comes to planning weekend meals and weekly paper-sack lunches, I’m usually on top of it. By Thursday I would have compiled a list of recipes and grocery items. By Saturday my kitchen would come to life with aromas and warmth. Sadly to say, that didn’t happen this weekend. Instead I did a short-cut Minestrone (boiled water and broth, added soup packet and a can of diced tomatoes) and called it good.

Yesterday evening PBS aired BBC’s smash hit drama Call the Midwife. It’s based on a memoir by Jennifer Worth, set in East London during the 1950s. Episode one opened up with the main character, Jenny Lee, having just finished nursing school and arriving at London’s east end. She and two other midwives live in Nonnatus House with an Order of Nuns. She’s shocked by the horrible and unsanitary living conditions as she visits one pregnant mother after another. One woman had given birth to 24 babies, only spoke Spanish, and had a husband who only spoke English. Seriously? Twenty-four babies? OMG.

The first episode was quite intriguing, and I look forward to the next installment as I just discovered that Miranda Hart will be introduced in episode two as a new member to the midwife team. I love Miranda. She’s a talented comedienne and comedic actress–she’s hilarious.

Needless to say, I spent a good portion of Sunday evening watching the telly as the season premiere to a couple of my favorite shows began that night. All in all, a lovely and relaxing evening.

All images ©2012 Sriprae P. McDonald

6 thoughts on “Short-Cut Minestrone & “Call the Midwife”

    • Glad to hear that you enjoyed the series. 🙂
      I know, I’m always sad when a good series end. However, in the meantime, I will enjoy the rest of the show! 🙂

  1. Short cuts are excellent and I know that every one has a quick meal about that they rely on when they actually do want to relax and still eat! (I made one of those yesterday actually!) I still think rainy tv, soup and a night in sounds very sensible and very luxurious!! 🙂

    • Thank God for short cut meals! Oh my, have I relied on those a lot lately. 🙂 Your posts have inspired me to be more creative though.
      YES, those kind of nights are luxurious indeed!

Leave a Reply

