Irish Soda Bread

DSC00218

In anticipation of Saint Patrick’s Day (and to soften the blow of daylight savings), I baked my first loaf of Irish soda bread.

DSC00205

Did you know that Irish soda bread does not require yeast? I just learned that a few weeks ago when I read a recipe for it in Martha Stewart Living and the New York Times. O frabjous day! A bread that doesn’t require yeast! Well, well, said I, I must try my hand at this at once!

DSC00224

The bread couldn’t be simpler or easier. It’s a dream!

DSC00248

DSC00241

Serve warm, slathered in butter. Accompany it with a lovely marmalade and Irish cheddar. Enjoy and Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

DSC00246

DSC00247

For recipe, click here.

{A few alterations I made: 1 tsp sea salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 cups skim milk}

DSC00228
All images ยฉ 2013 Sriprae P. McDonald

10 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread

  1. Pingback: The Chic Site ~

Leave a Reply

