Contemplating Spring

Header

The advent of spring will soon be upon us in the United States. I confess I’m not quite in the mood for spring. Of course, that doesn’t mean anything. I have neither power nor influence over the weather. What will be will be. Thus, to rally my spirits for spring, I dug into my cupboards and took out the spring-i-est pieces for a bit of inspiration.

DSC00305

You know, just a few days ago it snowed in New York City. I lament our lack of snow in the south. While my friends and coworkers jubilantly rejoice that warmer weather is over the horizon, I pine for snow and chilly nights that require socks for bed.

DSC00308

You must understand, here in the south it is rarely cold. Cold here is 40 degrees or high 30s. That is barely the tip of winter weather. Where I grew up, winter nights would be a blustering 10 or 15 degrees. In that region of the country there is much anticipation (deservedly so) for warmer climes.

DSC00313

My lovely wool sweaters and dresses have not seen the light of day this winter. This season’s outfits have been a flux between jeans (or skirts) with layered tops (in case the weather throws a mood swing and swaths us in 76 degrees by late afternoon). One must be prepared for a shift of about 30 (+ or -) degrees in temperature.

DSC00319

Besides rallying my spirits, why am I thinking about spring? Well, you see, the trees in front of my windows have suddenly bloomed. I kid you not. Fledging green shoots have crowned their tops, and birds are vying for branches with premium shade.

DSC00321

Alas, I must surrender my futile wish for snow.

DSC00302

All images Β© 2013 Sriprae P. McDonald

10 thoughts on “Contemplating Spring

  1. Nice pictures Sriprae! Nothing beats the first signs of spring. Its been a dark, cold and sometimes snowy winter here in London and I will gladly see the back of it! Can’t wait for the green trees and long summer days again! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Peter!
      I’ve seen that London has received its fair share of snow and wintry mix. I wish you a speedy arrival of spring and summer that is packed with lots of lovely sunshine, warmth and beauty. πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful dishes! If I could send you the one last inevitable blizzard we’ll probably get before spring finally starts here, I would. πŸ™‚

  3. Stunning photos and I loved them on your IG feed and more so now! These are some of the nicest stills ive sern in a while.

    By the way, we’ve totally stolen the weather here in the Southern Hemisphere.

    It’s close to 30-34C this week, right in the top range of temps for (summer?) and so far, the sun hasn’t let up!

    We’re still enjoying outdoor bbq’s and afternoon sunshine, which is kinda wrong seeing’s were already through one month of Autumn.

    I think Mother Nature needs to do a weather swap pronto! I’d be very glad for a night with wooly socks, lol πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you very much, Alice! πŸ™‚ Hahaha, understand how you feel about the weather. Squeeze every drop of gorgeous summer while it lasts, I suppose. It’s like the weather is experiencing some strange mood swings. The other week the temp had dropped to freezing and within a few days we were wearing short sleeves. Ahhhh, a night for wooly socks sounds superb! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

