Crank Up the AC and Let’s Make Ice Cream

honey_vanilla_image1

When I was little my parents had a wood barrel ice cream maker. We didn’t use it often because the contraption was too noisy for too long. The motor whirred and whined and buzzed, churning the cream inside a rather small white plastic container. On and on it would drone as Mom and Dad took turns feeding it with ice and rock salt. You could forget about watching television, talking on the telephone or carrying on a conversation. The noise drowned out everything. Even one’s consciousness. As much as we loved homemade ice cream, the beast remained in storage the better part of its lifespan.

honey_vanilla_image2

When I was in the fifth or sixth grade Dad bought me the Barbie ice cream parlor that came with an ice cream maker and recipe brochure. The maker was just a 2-serving white plastic container with a paddle inside…that one had to hand churn. I think I only used it twice.

honey_vanilla_image3

Ever since then I’ve not bothered with making ice cream. I had given it up, thinking that in order to enjoy this homemade treat I’d have to spend hundreds on a machine that I don’t have space to store. Imagine my utter delight when I came across a recipe for ice cream that did not require a machine. Frabjous day! Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy!

honey_vanilla_image4

Well apparently I wasn’t that quick on the draw since I found the recipe last year and have only attempted it this weekend.

honey_vanilla_image5

honey_vanilla_image6

honey_vanilla_image7

Nevertheless, the opportune time has presented itself. We’ve hit the triple digit weather here in Texas. It’s HOT. The disconcerting thing is that it will get hotter.

C’est la vie.

When the heat strikes, crank up the AC and let’s make ice cream!

honey_vanilla_recipe

Recipe courtesy of A Sweet Simple Life

All images © 2013 Sriprae P. McDonald

5 thoughts on “Crank Up the AC and Let’s Make Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

