Make Interesting Mistakes

 

make_interesting_mistakes

I remember leaving the office for the last time. It was a sunny, not too chilly, morning in February. The air still smelled like winter. I wore black. Dark skinny jeans, long sleeved tee with leather jacket, and Jackie O shades. My hair was pulled into a bun at the base of my neck, and my lips were painted red. I felt chic. I felt powerful, and I felt free. In my hands were the notarized paperwork outlining the terms of my severance package. I descended the steps that ushered me away from the office and to the parking lot. Never to return.

Comfort versus Fear of the Unknown

For years I did not think I could lead a life where I was truly myself. I could be myself to a certain extent when I was away from the job, but even then the job maintained it’s freakish control.

For years I operated in the type of environment where the job aimed to control how you perceived things, who you should favor in elections, how you should spend your time and manage your finances. I projected the approved image of myself while on the clock, only getting to be the real me among my close-knit friends. However, as time passed, the facade began to crumble.

The sad thing is I was comfortable. (How on earth could I have been comfortable?!) I knew the demands (however unreasonable) were placed upon me, but I remained where I was. There were many times where I longed for a world away from that job, but I remained. There were plenty of times where I would become physically ill because of the stress produced by that environment, but I remained. I did more than my fair share of complaining. I was unhappy there. But I remained.

Had it not been for them terminating my position, I would still be there. (How sick is that?) Standing on this side of the glass door, I would not and could not go back.

When you are so used to the cage, you do not realize it slowly killing your creativity.

Journal Entry: March 25, 2013

I held on to the familiar despite of its damaging effects. I held on because of the financial security. I held on because I thought I had no other options at the time.

The thing with Life is that she never reveals all her cards. You have to weigh the risks, and be courageous enough to take some. To shield yourself from taking any risk is no way to live.

Creativity Takes Courage

Creative work is not a selfish act or a bid for attention on the part of the actor. He is a gift to the world and every being in it. Don’t cheat us of your contribution. Give us what you’ve got.

Steven Pressfield

I’ve read many authors and bloggers and heard speakers who admonish the masses to get out of their comfort zone. Mentally I agreed them (while still ensconced in my CZ). Now I realize what they are trying to persuade us to do. Comfort zones can be a happy place. Everything is familiar; there are no spooky surprises lurking in the corners. However, comfort zones can be a dangerous place. For me, it kept me bound to a place I did not like, a place that made me feel I had nothing valuable to contribute, a place that tried its best to crush my creativity and my self-esteem.

Creativity takes courage. Courage to bear a part of your soul, to show or express a truth that is uncomfortable.

Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.

Edgar Degas

Status quo is like the comfort zone. There is no creativity.

Go and Do

Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here. Make. Good. Art.

Neil Gaiman

Starting out on my own as a freelancer has been both scary and exhilarating at the same time. I am learning every day. It has been a little over two months since I left the office, and in that short period of time, I have learned so much about business and marketing and networking and how to tie it all together with social media. I did not forage these topics when I was nestled in my comfort zone. Being out of the CZ has shown me what I am capable of; it has expanded my horizons and broadened my vision.

That’s all well and good, but now what?

All through life (at least all through my life) I have been admonished time and again by parents, teachers, family members and friends to avoid making mistakes. Many years of my life have been lived out very carefully and cautiously, tailored to the approval of those whom I esteemed. As I wrote previously: To shield yourself from taking any risk is no way to live.

We learn through mistakes. Granted, not all mistakes are created equal; some are more hazardous and hurtful and shameful than others. However, as humans living life, mistakes will ever be part of the equation. Perhaps we just need not to be afraid of mistakes.

Here is what I have learned thus far in launching out on my own.

  1. Do what you know and can do. Start with that.
  2. Then build on your skills and knowledge base.
  3. Fine tune things along the way (you’ll know what those things will be).
  4. Repeat the process.

Do not let fear keep you in your comfort zone. Be courageous and live a life true to yourself. Then go and make interesting, worthy mistakes.

xo

Sriprae

Recommended article: The Least Scary Way to Start a Business

13 thoughts on “Make Interesting Mistakes

  1. Hi Sripare. This is a great post! While reading, I almost cried.. because I thought this could be a personal message for me 🙂 I will come back here to read this again (and again). Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

    • Hello Miwako! Thank you so much for sharing. Wow. I am so glad you found the post to be helpful. Know that you are not alone. You have the courage and ability to act, to do what you know and can do. The obstacle may seem daunting and your mind may not have all the details figured out, but that’s ok. 🙂 We’re not the first ones in history to ever take steps like these. Many have done so and shown that it is possible. Know that I’m cheering for you. If you ever need encouragement or support, tap me and I’ll be there. 🙂

  2. If you had ventured into my past you could not have more elegantly expressed my inward being! Bravo on your creativity/courage message! I enjoy your posts immensely and am glad you obviously have a God given gift to encourage others and have the bravery to be transparent for other creatives!

    • Thank you very much for your kind words and encouragement! Thank you for taking the time to follow and read Abuchon. I am so honored that you enjoy what I’ve written. Sounds like you are in a much better place now. 🙂 There’s so many things we can all learn from each other, from our lives and our experiences. Thank God for the courage to move forward, yes? 🙂

  3. Ah…Sriprae! I am so very happy and excited for you! You have endless possibilities now that you are out of the corporate world! Never doubt yourself. Don’t blend in! xoxoxo Jen

    • Thank you, dearest Jen! It has been an interesting path for sure. As I wrote, scary & exhilarating. The exhilarating parts are diminishing the scary parts. Thank you for your encouragement and vote of confidence! Much love to you! xoxo

  4. Hey Sriprae, you have INTENSELY inspired a voice inside of me that has been trying to grow, one that I have been dodging. I’m going to read this same post over the coming months as a centering piece. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    So happy to see you writing :).

    • Hello Julianne!

      Thank you very much for reading the blog and sharing. I am so very pleased that it is inspiring you. Just taking that first step and doing what you know and can do makes a big difference. I am truly glad that you are going to pursue whatever it is inside you that you need to do. You have much to offer, and you’re an extremely talented young lady.

      Thank you, my dear! Much love to you. 🙂 xo

  5. Oh how I love visiting your blog Sriprae. Your words are my mantra for life!
    Feel the fear and do it anyway. Be brave. Be true to you. Have fun. Make mistakes, but be okay with it, you are growing and learning and it means you are actually living. 🙂
    Again, beautiful writing my friend, I am so happy to have found you.
    Much love across the oceans to you.
    xoxox

    • Greetings Darling Anna!!
      Thank you, my dear, so much for your comments, your encouragement and for your super upbeat spirit. I always smile and feel this happy aura every time I read your notes. You are a gem, my friend! Likewise I am truly happy to have met you on the blogosphere. 🙂
      Much love to you, dearest! xoxo

Leave a Reply

