An Evening Walk

C&MG_image1

The early evening light that filters through my windows have a soft blue hue. When I step outdoors and begin my walk, the light is a warm orange. This breeze that grazes my skin is the breath of summer. Warm and dry. Already the air is warm and dry. The wind ruffles the Texas plains, swirling dirt and dust from the numerous highway construction sites. A jungle of overpasses and concrete decks tower into the azure sky. On Friday the sky wore a cloak of Mediterranean blue as if the Aegean Sea was just over the crest.

C&MG_image2

The bloated clouds that drift above the rooftops arrest my attention. Puffy ships casting their shadows. By the time I reach the sidewalk, they had already sailed past. The breeze picks up speed, and I feel I could walk for miles and miles.

C&MG_image3

A sentry of Magnolia trees line the entrance to the gated community in which I call home. A couple days ago their fragrance smelled of sweetness accented with verbena. Yesterday it smelled of lemons. The milky white petals spread their perfume like welcoming kisses.

C&MG_image4

Just when spring is about to pivot into summer, the Texas heat escalates. But when the sun starts to sink over the horizon, the air is tempered and you can step out onto your patio, balcony or terrace and inhale the faint traces of spring.

C&MG_image5

This chard and mustard green gratin is an earthy, satisfying dish for a light evening meal. Set your dinner table outdoors. Serve a bottle of chilled rosé and enjoy the serenity.

xo

Sriprae McDonald

C&MG_recipe

All images © 2014 Sriprae P. McDonald

 

9 thoughts on “An Evening Walk

  1. Sorry I haven’t seen much of you for a while Sriprae. I’ve not been about on WP much because of a huge increase in stuff taking up my time. However, it’s nice to see a familiar blog and your love pictures! Hope all is god with you 🙂

    • Hello Peter! So very good to hear from you. How have you been (besides busy)? 🙂

      Thank you for the compliment and for dropping a note. Things are good here. New phase in life. Learning things and getting new experiences. I’m quite happy.

      All the best to you! 🙂

  2. New to your blog, absolutely love your pics and writing style. 🙂 I feel like I took a stroll with you. Brilliant way to get some good into you, great recipe, yep, gonna take a lap of your blog. Wishing you a great rest of week.

    • Hello Anna!
      Nice to meet you! Thank you for checking out Abuchon; I’m so honored! Very pleased that you enjoyed the post. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time and sending me a note…and taking a lap of my blog. 😉 Have a fabulous rest of the week!

  3. Such delightful & poetic musings as always Sriprae. I agree with Anna, it felt as though we were walking besides you, enjoying the daily jaunt & taking in the sights. Looks like a delicious way to spend your evenings, Al fresco!

    • Hello Darling! Thank you very much. So glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 I find that taking these walks help clears the mind and fuel inspiration. Hope you enjoy a most lovely weekend! Graduation soon approaches, yes? 🙂 I’m so very excited for you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

