Status Imperfection

Imperfection_header

All too often I am aware of the adage “comparison is the thief of joy”. All too often I get bamboozled by this petty thief. It’s an annoying gnat that flutters too close between my eyes. Too often I numbly fall into the trap of conceding that if only ‘this’ would happen or if I could be ‘that’ then all would be well with the world. (Ahem…my world).

Imperfection_image1

If my life does not include what ‘they’ have, then my life got chalked up to imperfect (aka incomplete).

Complete and utter nonsense!

Imperfection_image2

I have been made privy to the surface perfection of other people’s lives. (You have too!)

How could I be convinced of such a thing?

I’m going to say that I faltered in a moment of weakness.

When sanity returns like a bucket of ice water thrown at the face, I see the deception of self pity.

Outer pomp hides well the inner life.

Imperfection_image3

First of all, there is no such thing as a perfect life.

Second, we all have our share of burdens to bear. (Some people choose to hideย theirs.)

Imperfection_image4

When our perception gets skewed into believing that if by having “x” our challenges with adequacy, self-esteem or life enjoyment would be solved, we have entered the realm of The Great Delusion.

It is not healthy for us to always get what we want. I agree, it can be heart-wrenching when we don’t, but I think it keeps us in proximity to the heart of humanity. Pleasure is a reward, a most welcomed gift; but without its antithesis, pain, pleasure would not exist.

Imperfection_image5

What is life if we only strive to satisfy our self interests? Are we not reduced to being slaves to self? If in life we recognize that we each have our own burdens to shoulder and challenges to work through, would we not be more compassionate to help a soul and forget about self for a time? Would we be more careful not to flaunt what we have in front of those who don’t have? Would we be more perceptive to understand that there is always more than what meets the eye?

Imperfection_image6

Life is so much more than a menagerie of achievements and ascending status.

To me life is about people; it’s about us living together, helping each other, sharing in the good and bad times. The people we cherish is what makes life sooooo great.

xo

Sriprae McDonald
Imperfection_image7All images ยฉ 2014 Sriprae p. McDonald
10 thoughts on “Status Imperfection

  1. Beautiful words thoughts, sentiments and pictures, as always! I’m always struck by your thoughtfulness and convictions Sriprae, if we all lived as honestly and with integrity as you do, the world would be a much happier place. I agree that to struggle is human, as it to love and be joyful. We’re such a conundrum of varied emotions, each and every one of which makes us so unique…

    • Hello Alice, my friend! Thank you for your insightful comment and kind words. Girlfriend, as I’m sure you know it is not easy and can be frustrating as hell to go through life sometimes. But the struggle is universal, and some people go through so much more than others. Sometimes I feel like a wuss, but as you mentioned, we are unique and we all have our unique situations. I think with any situation we face, the lessons we learn (while being in it and while coming out of it) are very important take-aways that we need to remind ourselves and pass along the nuggets we’ve gleaned.

      So great to hear from you, dear. Have a terrific week and much love to you! xoxo

  2. Dang girl… I love your posts – SO MUCH!
    Thanks for being in my world chicka, thanks for your thoughtful and real writing, and for your eternal optimism, I am truly grateful that you are a part of my life. Because as you say, it is the people we cherish that make life sooooo great.

    • Aww, thank you so much! Thank YOU for your encouragement and support. You are a ray of fun sunshine! I’m truly grateful for you, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you have a super awesome weekend! Much love to you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

